November Wrap-Up/December TBR:

Hello,

Wow! I can’t believe that it is almost December already. I have only two more weeks of school before I go home for break and I am super excited. November has been very busy with a lot of homework but I finished my last test before finals yesterday so now I just have studying and my last art project since I changed my major.

 

For November I only read 2 books since school was so busy but I am hoping to make some progress in December. I am also hoping to catch up on all of my reviews in December and do a couple of extra posts as well. For my December TBR I won’t really post a library list until the middle of the month since it will probably be the 15th before I can request books so I will just have my ebooks, audio books and Netgalley books for this update and I will then make a separate post when i get my other books.

 

Total books read this month: 2 

15507958 30811001

  1. Me before you (#1) by Jojo Moyes (3 stars) – This is my first book that I have read by this author and it was ok. I really like the first half of it but then once I got around 60% it slowed down and took me a little longer to finish. I am interested in seeing what happens in the next book though but it may be a while before I get to it.
  2. The Hundredth queen (#1) by Emily R. King (3.5/5 stars) – This one was a little hard for me to rate because I thought it was okay at first but there were a couple of things that I didn’t enjoy about it. I do have the next two books so I will be continuing the series and will have my review up in December hopefully.

 

Books i am currently reading: 

34128219  2429135 31450852

  1. La Belle Sauvage (#1) by Philip Pullman – So this is one of my most anticipated books of the year and it is pretty good so far. I haven’t been able to read it since Thanksgiving but I am hoping that I will be able to make some progress with it over break.
  2. The girl with the dragon tattoo (#1) by Stieg Larsson – I started this one just a couple of days ago and it is okay so far. I’ve only read a couple of chapters so I don’t really know what to think of it so I am hoping that it will get better once I sit down and read it.
  3. Tower of dawn (#6) by Sarah J. Maas – This is also another anticipated book although I haven’t really started it yet so I am hoping to read a little bit of it soon.

 

Netgalley Books I need to read for December: 

I probably won’t get to all of these so a few books might be moved to January, but I am hoping to make some progress with my list.

27426044 34314702 35051065 33123849

I was definitely surprised when I found that I was approved for Tess of the road and the Rogue queen since they are 2018 releases but I am excited to read them as well. I will probably focus on Nyxia and the Fire queen though since I have had those for a while and haven’t been able to read them. If I am able to I will also try to read Tess of the road but it may be moved to January if I don’t get to it.

 

Ebooks to get:

19288043 20587589 6 27015393

 

Kindle books i am thinking about reading: 

231270481 24909346

 

So this is what I have planned for December. I am hoping to have some regular posts up for December as well but I probably won’t be able to start back up until around the 15th.

 

Advertisements

Down the TBR Hole #3 – Thursday, November 23, 2017:

Hello,

Happy Thanksgiving!

I am doing another post today and will hopefully have a couple more up by the end of the week.

 

 

Currently TBR: 481

 

Book #21: 

The haven by Carol Lynch Williams

Date added: October 19, 2014

15737583

I am not really sure about this one but it still sounds kind of interesting and it is a short read so for now I think it will stay on my TBR.

The Judgement: For now keep.

 

Book #22: 

The space between by Brenna Yovanoff

Date added: October 19, 2014

10261812

I thought this one would sound interesting when I first added it and I did try it but I never really read more than a couple of pages of it. I don’t really know when I will pick this one up again so for now it will go off my TBR shelf.

The Judgement: Go

 

Book #23: 

Tangled by Carolyn Mackler

Date added: October 19, 2014

6566558

This is another contemporary romance that I added that I don’t know when I will get to so for now it will be deleted as well.

The judgment: Go

 

Book #24: 

The book of life (#3) by Deborah Harkness:

Date added: November 15, 2014

16054217

This is another one of those books that I added before I realized that it was part of a series and I added solely based on the cover. I don’t know if I will ever get to this book so for now it will be deleted as well.

The Judgement: Go

 

 

Book #25: 

Lock in (#1) by John Scalzi

Date added: November 15, 2014

21418013

This is one of those books that I am not sure about but it does sound interesting so I am hoping to get to this one at some point.

The Judgement: Keep

 

Book #26 

The replacement by Brenna Yovanoff

Date added: November 15, 2014

7507908

This one also sounded interesting at first but now I don’t know when I will get to it. For now it will be deleted off my shelf as well.

The Judgement: Go

 

Book #27: 

Free to fall by Lauren Miller:

Date added: December 16, 2014

18602289

This one has an interesting concept but I am torn between wanting to read it or deleting it from my shelf. I think for now I may keep it in case i do decide to read it in the future.

The Judgement: Keep

 

Book #28

Wolfsbane (#2) by Andrea Cremer:

Date added: December 28, 2014

7263429

I thought I would try reading this series again after i read the first book but I don’t know if I will ever get back to these two so for now I will delete this one off my shelf as well.

The Judgement: Go

 

 

Book #29: 

Bloodrose (#3) by Andrea Cremer

Date added: December 28, 2014

8130839

                     I think this one will also get deleted from my shelf as well.

The Judgement: Go

 

 

Book #30: 

The 100 (#1) by Kass Morgan

17332969

This is another one of those books that I would add to my library list but would end up changing it for a different book. This one is also going as well.

The Judgement: Go

 

Well I ended up deleting a few more books this time.  For the next few posts there will be quite a few series books that I will probably be deleting so I may group those as one but i haven’t figured out how I am going to do that yet. I will still be doing 10 books at a time though.

 

 

 

Down the TBR hole #2 : Wednesday, November 22, 2017:

Hello,

I picked up on this challenge a few weeks ago and haven’t gotten back to it since due to school but I am on break now and am hoping to do 4 or 5 of these before I head back.

Down the TBR is hosed by Lia @Lost in a story.

“Most of you probably know this feeling, your Goodreads TBR pile keeps growing and growing and it seems like there is no light at the end of the tunnel. You keep adding, but you add more than you actually read. And then when youre scrolling through your list, you realize that you have no idea what half the books are about and why you added them. Well thats going to change! 

It works like this:

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 (or even more!) if youre feeling adventurous) books. Of course, if you do this weekly, you start where you left off the last time.
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?”

Current TBR Count: 485

Book #11 

Royally lost by Angie Stanton:

                                                         Date added: May 24, 2014

18530135

This was one of the first books that I added when i first started on Goodreads and every since then I still haven’t picked it up at the library. I don’t know if I will ever get to it in the next year or so but for now it will be deleted from my shelf.

The Judgement: Go

 

Book #12: 

Don’t Stop now b Julie Halpern:

Date added: May 24, 2014

9578331

I added this one because it seemed like an interesting book and while I mostly read Fantasy now I will probably pick this one up eventually. For now this one will stay on my TBR shelf.

The judgement: Keep

 

Book #13 

21 proms by David Leviathan:

Date added :May 24, 2014

 23013665

This was one of those books that would get added to my list when I went to the library but then I would find another book and never actually found this one. I may read it later but I have no idea when so for now it will go off my shelf but I may eventually try it.

The Judgement: Go

 

Book #14

The Sweetness of Salt by Cecilia Galante:

Date added: May 25, 2014

8001810

I added this back when I was going through my contemporary romance phase and now I read a lot more Fantasy so I don’t know if I will every get back to this one. I did pick this one up from the library at one point but i was only able to read a few pages of it but I never went back to finish it so I think for now I will delete it from my shelf.

The Judgement: Go

 

Book #15

The sweet life of Stella Madison by Lara Deloza:

Date added: May 25, 2014:

5835027

This one sounded really interesting when I first added it and it still does so I may eventually pick it up, I just don’t know when. For now this one will probably stay on my TBR shelf.

The Judgement: Keep

 

Book #16: 

Blackout (#1) by Robison Wells:

Date added: May 25, 2014

17332588

This book sounds really interesting and while I don’t know when I will get to it I still want to read it. So for now it will stay on my TBR shelf.

the Judgement:  Keep

 

Book #17: 

The fall by Bethany Griffin:

Date added: June 14, 2014

18241263

This book sounds really interesting as well and I will hopefully read it sometime next year hopefully so for now it will stay on my TBR.

The Judgement: Keep

 

Book #18: 

Fiendish by Brenna Yovanoff

date added: June 22, 2014:

18667948

At first I thought this would be a good horror book but now I don’t know. I did read a couple of pages of it but it was ok although I never went back to it. Right now I don’t know if I will ever get back to it so it will be deleted off my shelf as well.

The Judgement: Go

 

Book#19: 

Plague (#4) by Michael Grant:

Date added: October 19, 2017

6686101

I have no idea how this book got added to my shelf before the 3  book but I do plan on finishing this series at some point. For now this one will stay on my shelf because it does sound pretty good.

The judgement: Keep

 

Book #20: 

Lies (#3) by Michael Grant:

Date added: October 19, 2014

                                           6686092

This series is interesting so far but it does take me a long time to get through each of the books. I am hoping to catch up on this series next year and hopefully finish it if I can.

The judgement: Keep

 

Have you guys read any of these, and are there any that i deleted that I should keep?

Thanksgiving Break and updates:

Hello,

I can’t believe that it is already Thanksgiving break. The past couple of weeks have been pretty hectic lately as I have had a ton of homework to turn in but I got everything done and now I just have finals to study for before I go home for Christmas break again.

 

I do have a few posts planned for this week as well since I have gotten behind in my weekly posts. For the “Down the TBR Hole” meme I will be posting about 4 or 5 updates this week to get back on track with my TBR shelf. I  also haven’t really written any reviews but I am hoping to finish a couple of books this week as well since I went to the library. I’m definitely behind in my reading challenge this year and may not make it to my intended goal but I am hoping to catch up on all of my netgalley reviews and other series that I have been reading over Christmas break.

 

Books I have read: 

15507958

This one took me a lot longer than I thought it and it was okay. I have the second book to read but it may be next year before I can get to it (3.5/5 stars).

 

Currently reading:

34128219

This one is one of my top anticipated books of the year and it is very good so far. I’ve only read a few pages so far but i am hoping to make a lot of progress with this one in the next couple of days.

31450852

This is another one that i have been looking forward to and will hopefully make some progress with it this week as well.

30811001

I thought this one would be good but it is only okay so far. I am hoping to finish it this week and post a review of it as well.

 

So this is what I have planned for this week. I don’t know how much reading I will be able to do but I am hoping to make a lot of progress before I go back to school.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Marybeth

October Wrap-Up/November TBR:

Hello,

Wow! I can’t believe that October is almost over and that it is almost Halloween. I looked at my calendar over the weekend and realized that i have about 5 full weeks of school left before Finals and Christmas break. October has been pretty hectic and November looks even more hectic though. It looks like i have at least two, maybe 3 more papers to write, and two more tests in every class that I am taking except for my online class which just has the final at the end of the semester. This week i turn in my 3rd art project so I am hoping that it will go well. I’ve been kind of struggling in my first art class but I take 3 art classes next semester so I am hoping that things will get better. I have doing some research though, on different majors and jobs that i would be interested but for now i am staying in Graphic design and will see how things go. I might even post some pictures of my artwork during break. The weather has also started to get pretty cold in the mornings and evenings as well so I am getting used to that too but I have been enjoying it too.

Reading has been pretty sparse lately due to school being hectic so  I will be catching up during break, i looked at my reading goal on Goodreads and was already 21 books behind so it will probably be a little longer than that by Thanksgiving break. I did manage to read two books this month though and they were pretty good. I also have a couple of audio books planned, to see if I can squeeze in a couple of books while I am walking to class and I am hoping to work on the fourth Harry Potter books as it is the series I am rereading this year.

 

I also started in a new weekly meme called Down the TBR Hole created by Lia @lostinastory,  in which you look at your TBR  shelf and decide which books should stay or go. It has been since the beginning of the year since i have looked at my TBR list on Goodreads and while I have a bunch of series on there that i hope to finish someday, I don’t know if I will ever get to them so I will be working through those once i get to them. This will be a weekly thing so i plan on posting every Friday unless I have to work on a major project. I will also try to update on Mondays but it may be once or twice since i am not reading as much as I was over the summer.

 

So here is what I read in October:

Total Books I read: 2

Total amount of books I have read this year: 115/165

October Books: 

5 98413

  1. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (#3) by J.K. Rowling – This is definitely my favorite series so I will be continuing on to the next one hopefully in November (5 stars).
  2. Nana Vol. 1 by Ai Yazawa – This one was different than what I normally read in manga but i decided to give it a try and it was pretty good. I will probably continue the series at some point (4 stars).

 

So this is what I read in October. I didn’t get in as much as I thought I would but I am going to attempt to listen to a couple of audio books in November so hopefully I will get a few more read next month.

 

Currently reading: 

15507958 30811001

  1. Me before you (#1) by Jojo Moyes – This one was really interesting at first but once i got around 60% on my Kindle it kind of slowed down for me and then school got really busy so I haven’t been able to read i. I am hoping with Thanksgiving around the corner that I will be able to read a couple of books.
  2. The Hundredth queen (#1) by Emily R. King – I picked up this one up for review on Netgalley but havent really shown an interest in reading it yet. I have read a couple of pages os far so i am hoping that next month I will be able to finish it and post a review.

 

 

November TBR: (tentative list): 

6 15937108 20587589

  1. Harry potter and the Goblet of Fire (#4) by J.K. Rowling – I have a hold on this one so it may be a while before I get it and i probably won’t finish it in November but I am hoping to start this one next month.
  2. Counting by 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan – This one will be an audio book and it is middle grade so i am hoping to get this one on my IPod this week and start listening to it.
  3. Above the waterfall by Ron Rash – This is another audio book that I am hoping to get once I finish my first one but it depends on how things go in November.

 

SO this is my list for November. I am hoping to get a couple of audio books so I can make some progress with my reading goal for the year but November looks extremely busy, especially the second and third weeks of November so i am not sure how much reading I will be able to do. I should have a weekly Down the TBR hole post up on Fridays and maybe one or two Monday posts as well but  I won’t have any reviews or anything like that until December. I’ll try to post updates every once in a while though.

 

Down the TBR Hole #1:

Hello,

I know its been a while since I last posted as things have been pretty hectic with school. Midterms have passed though so this week was a little quieter. I should hopefully have another post up next week as well but after that it will probably be Thanksgiving before I make another post.

So I’ve a few posts of this meme in the last few weeks and decided to go ahead and give it a try.

Down the TBR hole is hosted by Lia @Lost in a Story!

Most of you probably know this feeling, your Goodreads TBR pile keeps growing and growing and it seems like there is no light at the end of the tunnel. You keep adding, but you add more than you actually read. And then when youre scrolling through your list, you realize that you have no idea what half the books are about and why you added them. Well thats going to change!

It works like this:

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 (or even more!) if youre feeling adventurous) books. Of course, if you do this weekly, you start where you left off the last time.
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

 

For this first one I will probably do 10 books as i have a lot of older books on my TBR that have been on there for three or more years.

Current TBR Count: 491

 

        Book:#1: 

Private (#1) by Kate Brian: 

                                                      Date added: December 1, 2013:

381489

I recently read Privilege (#1) by Kate Brian and didn’t really like it that much and this was probably one of the first ones that I added to my shelf when I first Joined Goodreads. I’ve thought about adding this one to my To-Read shelf for December but I am just not sure if I want to read it.

The Judgement: Go (For now)

 

Book #2: 

The Reece Malcolm list by Amy Spalding:

 Date added: February 15, 2014: 

13517338

I’ve also had this one on my TBR shelf for a while and every time I tried to get it from the library other books replaced it. I may eventually get to it either in December or next year.

The Judgement: Keep 

 

Book #3: 

Wings of the Wicked (#2) by Courtney Allison Moulton: 

Date added: February 22, 2014:

8501291

I read the first book in this trilogy about a year or two ago and it was pretty good. This one will probably get added to my To-Read list for December but it may be next year before I read it.

The judgement: Keep

 

Book #4

Dune (#1) by Frank Herbert: 

Date added: March 4, 2014:

234225

I thought I would enjoy this book but  I just haven’t found the right time to read it yet and it also kept getting checked out of the library when I thought about reading it so  I might not get to this one. If I have a n opportunity to get it from the library in the future then I might read it but for now I am deleting it from my TBR.

The Judgement: Go 

 

Book #5:

Confessions of an angry girl: (#1) by Louise Rozett 

                                                   Date added: March 4, 2014:

13515025

I have added this to my To-read list a bunch of times over the last two years thinking I would be able to get it from the library but it was always one of those books that didn’t quite make it due to seeing other books or it wasn’t checked in at the library. It does sound interesting but I don’t really know when I will be able to read it so for now it will be deleted:

The Judgement: Go 

 

Book #6: 

Past perfect by Leila Sales: 

                                                        Date added: March 15, 2014

10637697

I wanted to read this book at first but I read Mostly Good Girls by Leila Sales and wasn’t very impressed so I may not get to this one. It is also at a different library than the main one that I go to so it may be a while before I get to it. So far now this one will also be deleted.

The Judgement: Go 

 

Book #7: 

Catch a falling star by Kim A. Culberston 

                                                 Date added: April 20, 2014:

18527496

I am pretty sure that I picked this book up at some point but it was one of those that I never got to due to other books that i was finishing up before the new school year started and I only got through a few pages of this one. I haven’t really thought about this one that much either so it will be deleted as well.

 The Judgement: Go 

 

Book #8: 

 A brief chapter in my impossible life by Dana Reinhardt

                                                     Date added: April 26, 2014

110733

I am still not sure about this one yet but for now I will keep it since it has good reviews and is something that i would be interesting in reading. For now this will go on my maybe list and I will read it someday, hopefully.

The Judgement: Keep (for now) 

 

Book #9: 

The darlings are forever (#1) by Melissa Kantor: 

Date added: May 4, 2014:

8428049

I am not sure about this one either but it does sound like a novel that I would read. While it might be sometime next year before I get to it or later, for now it will stay on my shelf.

The Judgement: Keep (For now)

 

Book #10: 

Black City (#1) by Elizabeth Richards: 

Date added: May 2, 2014

12568505 

This was another one of those books that I would add to my to-read list thinking i would be able to get it from the library library but it would usually already be checked out or another book would replace it. For now this one will be deleted as well. I may read it later but right now I don’t know when I will be able to.

The Judgement: Go 

 

 

Have you read any of these? Do you agree with these or are there any that I should keep?

 

 

I am hoping to do this every week or every other week so i can get through my TBR but it depends on how much hw i have during the week.

 

 

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? September 25, 2017:

it2527s2bmonday25212bwhat2bare2byou2breading

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is hosted by Kathryn at the bookdate. This is where you can talk about what you have read, what you are currently reading, and what you are about to read.

Hello,

I just realized that it has been a while since I last posted on this so I decided that i would try and write an update today. School has started in full swing for me so i have a lot more homework than i did at tech so i haven’t been able to read books as much as I have been but I have finished 3 this month which is definitely more than I thought it would be. October looks to be really busy as well since we have midterms as well so i will be studying for those too. I have a small tentative list for October but with midterms I am not really sure how much reading I will be able to do yet.

 

What I have read: 

(I won’t have links up for these but I will have titles up)

 

Harry Potter and the sorcerers stone (#10 by J.K. Rowling:

3

I decided back in August hat I really wanted to reread this series again and so far it has been amazing. Definitely 5 stars and a series I would highly recommend.

 

The Martian by Andy Weir:

316862511

This one took me a while to finish but I am glad that I read it. the science did get to me at one point though and I had to skim over some places but it was an enjoyable read and one I would recommend (4 stars).

 

Harry Potter and the chamber of secrets (#2) by J.K Rowling:

15881

This one was another fast read and I look forward to reading the next one (5 stars).

 

Currently reading: 

98413

This is my last manga that I have to read for one of my challenges on Goodreads so i am hoping to finish it up sometime this week or next.

30811001

 

5

15507958

 

Up next: 

25041504

 

So this is what I have planned for this week. I probably won’t be able to finish all of them this week but I am hoping to read them at some point in October. I am also going to post once a month since I don’t post regularly and then will hopefully come back in December with more reviews and posts.

Marybeth